2011 Tour Divide ‘LOI’

The long-awaited announcement is here. I shall take myself to the line in Banff for the 2011 running of the Tour Divide. I sent my LOI (letter of intent) in today. Training begins officially and lots of planning and logistics to sort out over the next 6 months. I look forward to this epic adventure knowing it will be the biggest thing I have ever wrapped myself into. The other brave souls that will meet me at the line on June 10, I salute you and look forward to the comradery. I will be posting about my progress over the next 6 months right here on the Team Crank website.

For those of you who don’t know about the Tour Divide. I have posted a summary about it from the Tour Divide website.

“The Tour Divide challenge is to race self-supported along all 2,745 miles of Adventure Cycling Association’s Great Divide Mountain Bike Route. The goal is to keep moving and be moved; to exist well outside the comfort zone as you tackle a cross-continent bikepacking odyssey. The format has no designated rest periods or set distances a racer must travel daily. The clock runs non-stop. She or he who can ride the fastest while making fewer, shorter stops usually sets the course records. With an average time-to-completion of three weeks in the saddle, Tour Divide is the longest–arguably most challenging–mountain bike time trial on the planet. It is a challenge for the ultra-fit, but only if ultra-prepared for myriad contingencies of backcountry biking.”

There is also a great movie,”Ride the Divide“, out about the race if you want to get a better feel of what this is all about and what it takes.

Cheers!

By Team Crank

3 comments on “2011 Tour Divide ‘LOI’

  1. Pingback: Tour Divide Newbie Stuff and info | Divide Bound

Leave a Reply

