Tour Divide Training Update and Bike Build Progress

Only 67 days to the start. Crazy, time is flying. Before I know it, it will be all out boogie woogie down the Continental Divide. I will be getting my plane ticket this week. Lodging in Banff is done. Check, check,……more to do, more to get,…..the cycle never ends. Always something more or something forgot. I’m ready to start this epic.

So far so good…..atleast I think that is the vibe I’m jiving. I got out Saturday afternoon for a 50 mile dirt road stomping. 7500 feet of climbing with some great descents, even bumped 40 mph on one of them. Crazy weather around here. Lots of headwinds and crosswinds, which kept me leaning and pumping. Even had a bit of sleet a few times, but the sun was out most of the time, crazy. We had snow last week although it was only a dusting, very odd. Felt great on the ride and the legs are getting that pop. Should be good for the upcoming races in May.

More gear coming in for the Tour Divide bike. I have posted some pics below to show the progress of the Sette Serum Elite and a few from the weekend training rides. You can see the seat bag and top tube bag. I have also mounted the aero bars and bike computer. Should be getting my light in, which will be mounted under the aero bars. My frame bag and another top tube bag will be arriving soon. My handlebar bag is complete and will be mounted soon. More pics to come.

Sunday, I headed up to the Shenandoah National Park and converged on Skyline Drive for some…..as the Europeans say-up, uP, UP, UPP! I covered 102 miles with 12,400 feet of elevation gain. Big ride and I was very pleased. A bit cool up there as they still have some ice frozen on the road side cliffs. Sun was out and the deer met me more than once as I traversed the southern portion of Skyline Drive. My turn around was at Raven’s Roost on the Blue Ridge Parkway. The bike did well, very pleased with the Serum Elite. It will do me well in the Tour. So, the run down on the weekend training session comes to 150 miles with 20,000 feet of elevation gain, not bad. Keep riding and putting the time in and the rest will take care of itself.

Cheers

By Team Crank

2 comments on “Tour Divide Training Update and Bike Build Progress

  1. Thanks brother. I know that you also will rock again at the Trans Alp this year. Keep turning those cranks my friend.

    Cheers

Leave a Reply

