2nd at Lodi

Two races, two seconds and both races the lead was within grasp. Lodi is a great race and I have done it for the last 4 years. This year I did it with my buddy, Chris. This was our second race together and both times we have walked onto the podium for second. Both times we have competed in a competitive field that has kept us on our toes. Either I have been on or as at Lodi this year, Chris was on. If we ever show up at a race and are both on, it is ours for the taking. For some reason I was off this year at Lodi. Could be over training, type of training (Tour Divide) or simply not enough rest. However, I was sluggish and had no energy and I sensed it on the first lap. I rode a survival race and gritted it out while Chris kept our time loss at a minimum. Thank goodness Chris came ready, because as a team we rocked the course and completed 120 miles of rooty, tight and bouncy single track in 11 hours 59 minutes. The Sette bike performed brillantly, however next year I will be running a full suspension. It was fun hanging out with the guys at Blue Ridge Cyclery in between laps. Chris and I will be back together later in the year for the 18 hours on the Farm. Maybe a rematch with Scott and Geoff is in order.

Next up is Cranky Monkey 9 Hours up in Maryland. I will be taking on the solo category. Hopefully, I will be back in good order for a solid showing.

Leave a Reply

