Tour Divide 2011 – Finisher

I did it folks. I finished the hardest mountain bike race in the world. It took everything I had to get it done in a competitive fashion. In 24 days I pedaled from Banff, Alberta to Antelope Wells, NM up and down the Continental Divide along some of the most inhospitable terrain imaginable. My sweat, blood and tears were left on the course. I can’t be prouder of the accomplishment. I met so many wonderful people who shared in the suffering of the Tour Divide. I will write more later. I’m home and resting. Still processing this thing. I still can’t believe I actually pedaled across the USA off-road. I learned a lot about myself out there and went through an emotional roller coaster along with physical pain that stabbed me constantly as I lived this event. Thanks to all of my family and friends for their undying support and prayers. Most of all thanks to my rock, Jackie, for keeping me in the game and believing. I can’t tell you the emotions I felt when she sped into the Mexican border to pick me up as I stood there in the dark wrapped in salt and dust from the beating I took from this race. Thanks baby!

I also want to thank my wonderful sponsors, especially Price Point and Sette.

12 thoughts on “Tour Divide 2011 – Finisher

  1. Congratulations once again from the Price Point and Sette Team!!! We all can’t get over what an amazing achievement this is. We are all here for you and wishing you a speedy recovery.

  2. Congrats Bro! Never doubted you would finish….all the expeditions we had during childhood, You were born to be a leader. Much love SIS

  3. I’m amazed at your strength to endure. I’m still trying to picture someone…….. anyone…….. you, traveling the length of the US on a bicycle. Wow!!!!!!!!!!! GREAT JOB.
    Karen, USM Post Office

  4. Wonderful accomplishment, Markley! We knew you would finish and it’s just amazing how anyone could endure such a feat!!! Mr. John and I are very proud of you!! Can’s wait to see a bunch of pictures and hear about the trip.

  5. Markley,
    You go guy! It really sounds quite dramatic and life changing (well it would be a true metamorphasis for me). I’d love to hear more about it but I suppose if might be a bit like war, hard to describe if you weren’t there.
    Ashby

    1. It was for sure and I still find it hard to believe. Like life it was a struggle. I’m better for having done it. The struggle was worth it.

Leave a Reply

