Tour Divide (2013) Bike Setup/Review (Sette Razzo SC XX – Performance Review), Part 2

IMG_33051As mentioned previously, I have selected the Sette Razzo Carbon 29er as my steed this summer. I have been out riding it and getting a feel for it. bankingI want to highlight it here. This bike performs on all levels. Impressed is an understatement. This is my first 29er as I have always ridden a 26 inch set up. I can be a bit reluctant to switch with the tides until I feel like the change has been tested and trued. I have been ripping it up on the Razzo. IMG_33151After a 100 miles of dirt-gravel roads, road and single-track trails, I feel like I have had enough riding on it to give a performance review. The Razzo climbs, tracks, rolls and handles so well that I could kick myself in the you know what for having delayed my transition. IMG_33231I couldn’t believe how fast and responsive it was on varied terrains, it performed. IMG_33121I was launching off of rollers and grabbing bank turns like I was on rails. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not sending my 26 inch bikes to the scrap pile. I will still use them regularly and race them a lot in my lap based racing. The Razzo frame is incredibly strong and balances the right mixture of being stiff and flexible when expected and needed for a cross-country rig. The layout (design) is well thought out. When looking at the frame, you will immediately notice the bling factor. Upon closer inspection, the internal cable routing is something that I really like. No doubt this frame has a strong presence. After making the fit adjustments, I was riding without any transitional adaptation from the 26 inch setup. I thought that I would have to adjust and modify my riding style to the 29er platform. That wasn’t the case in any way, I jumped on it and rode it like I had always been on it. IMG_3301The response of this bike is incredible. The SC XX model comes equipped with the top-level components and they are flawless in their performance (efficient, effective, responsive, reliable). I will be racing the Tour Divide on this bike with confidence and ease of mind that I’m on a machine that is reliable and capable. Let me tell you, when I’m out there in the Great Basin of Wyoming or the Gila National Forest in New Mexico I will have confidence in my steed and can focus on pedaling. Below, I have listed the component’s layout on my setup. I have only made a few modifications in order to suit my needs for the Tour Divide. My next review will cover the fully equipped Tour ready setup that I will use. This will include the bags and packs I will use to carry all of my equipment to live, eat and survive the WILD WILD WEST. My training is coming along well. I just finished up with a training block of 300 miles and 30,000 ft. of climbing in the last 5 days. My first race is in 3 weeks, 24 hours on the Ridge. I’m using that specifically for training time in the saddle and leg conditioning. My endurance and fitness seem to be in a solid place at this point in the year. Up, up, up! 2013-04-01 10.48.22

Frame
Sette Razzo SC UD Carbon Tube To Tube Construction
Size(s)
17″
Fork
White Brothers Rock Solid Carbon Rigid
Shifters
Sram XX Triggers 2×10 Speed
Front Derailleur
Sram XX Top Swing Top Pull
Rear Derailleur
Sram XX Medium Cage 10 Speed
Shifter Cable/Housing
Jagwire
Brake Levers
Avid XX
Front Brake
Avid XX 160mm CleanSweep-X Rotor
Rear Brake
Avid XX 160mm CleanSweep-X Rotor
Crankset
Sram XX 39-26t Q156 175mm
Bottom Bracket
C Bear-Ceramic Bearings
Cassette
Sram XX XG-1099 11-36t 10 Speed
Chain
KMC X10SL Ti Nitrate 10 Speed
Headset
FSA Sealed Tapered
Handlebar
Easton EC70 XC Wide Flat 685mm
Grips/Tape
ESI
Stem
Easton EA90 (15 & 17″ 80mm,19″ 90mm, 21″ 100mm)
Saddle
Fizik Tundra 2 With Kuim Rails
Seatpost
Easton EC70 31.6 x 400mm
Wheelset
Easton EA90 XC QR15
Front Tire
Stan’s The Crow 29×2.0 
Rear Tire
Stan’s The Crow 29×2.0

*Pedals- Shimano M980 XTR SPD

**Photos courtesy of Nick Boutboul

2 thoughts on “Tour Divide (2013) Bike Setup/Review (Sette Razzo SC XX – Performance Review), Part 2

Leave a Reply

