1st at 8 Hours of Ithaca

20150719_020427_resized
Jail House Growler

It was hot and humid…the trails were slick and the bridges were booby traps. Another one in the books and another win. It has been a great year of racing. I wanted to try out the Michigan scene and I wasn’t disappointed. Some great competition to be had up there. Ithaca is a small little town in central Michigan that contains the Jail House Trail at the local fairground. It is a twisted maze of weave that accumulates into 5.6 miles of a ripping good time of dizzy. Fun Promotions runs this event along with several other endurance events in the Michigan Cup Endurance Series. Fun Promotions put on a great race in the 8 hours of Ithaca. After driving 4.5 hours north from Dayton with my lady on one of the hottest days of the year without A/C, we arrived with 50 minutes until the start. A quick hustle to setup the pits and I was off with an impressive field of single speeders. A bit of rain and a thunderstorm made a visit, which buttered up the already peanut butter slick trails and it was a slip/slide affair. I settled into 2nd place early and rode steady. I haven’t raced this year in conditions that were really hot and humid, so I wanted to pace myself. It paid off as the first place rider, Alex from Tree Fort Bikes, held the lead with me always within ~5 minutes the entire race until the last lap and I passed him out of the pits and made the run to the finish. 19 laps (106 miles) in 8 hours. It was a close one for the entire 8 hours and steady pacing won it for me on this day. Alex was solid and hats off to him for running a solid race. Jess was always smiling while running the pits and kept me going without delay. It really makes a positive impact when the pits are smooth and items are easily accessible. In the end, I felt good and easily could have laid down more laps. The humidity was rough and hydration was key out there. The trails were fun and fast.

20150716_100241_resized

Wolf Tooth Components did me well with my drivetrain setup. I ran a 32T front chain ring and 17T rear cog. I really like the chainring and single speed cog setup. I drove it hard and the chain just locked in and propelled on these gears. The chainring has the Drop Stop tooth design which forms to the anatomy of a chain. Made out of aluminum, so that keeps the drive train setup light.

20150720_132052_resized

Trucker Co tire sealant once again saved the day. I didn’t realize it until the next morning after the race when I noticed a small stick impaled in the front tire. I never lost any air pressure. Solid sealant and I highly recommend it for tubeless setups, it can make a huge difference in winning or losing as it did in this race for me.

Im hoping that the wet summer starts to dry up some here in the midwest, so that more riding and racing can be undertaken.

2015-07-19 07.08.35_resized

Pedal On!

Cheers!

One thought on “1st at 8 Hours of Ithaca

  1. Markley, Hey it’s Jason (of the late XXC Magazine). I was at Ithaca snapping some pics of friends and was going through my files and saw what I thought was you. But I had no idea you were up in this area now, so figured no way. Turns out I was right. Sadly the one pic of you I took didn’t turn out. Sorry. Hope all is well, best of luck, maybe we’ll run into each other again sometime and I can buy you a beer(s) for you past contributions to my late mag. Take care. – Jason

Leave a Reply

